Last week the “Digital Summit” 2019 took place in Dortmund. Andreas was on site for Cloud Item. The event lives from the exciting mixture of politics and economy, but also from the input of many start-ups and SMEs. This time we were mainly focused on the announced focus topic “digital platforms” and the plans for the cloud network Gaia-X.

Especially for us as a provider of a SaaS platform, we see a growing importance of B2B platforms from the area of Industry 4.0 and the Internet of Things. Many of our customers and partners know that our products are part of the strategic solutions for a digital industry.
For us, the “Digital City” data platforms are an important starting point. To address this issue, we participated in exciting sessions and discussion groups, where there was a lively technical exchange. Especially the issues of data autonomy and data security were controversially discussed.

Especially important for our company at the event was the state of planning and the opportunities for the planned cloud network Gaia-X. This network will enable European companies to develop new digital business models. The planned speed at which the network is to start is enormous. Initial tests of this ambitious concept are already in the pipeline for next year. Soon after these initial tests, the network will go live with the first providers and users. We would also like to see the planned foundation of a European cooperative. The networking of large industrial groups, SMEs and start-ups fits in well with our strategic portfolio.

All in all, this was a successful event. The two days were filled with the discussion of opinions, experiences and ideas on digitisation. But networking also had its place. So it was a great event.

In der letzten Woche fand der „Digital Gipfel“ 2019 in Dortmund statt. Für Cloud Item war Andreas vor Ort. Der Event lebt von der spannenden Mischung aus Politik und Wirtschaft, aber auch vom Input vieler Startups und KMUs. Dieses Mal galt unser Blick hauptsächlich dem avisierten Fokus-Thema “Digitale Plattformen” und den Planungen zum Cloud-Netzwerk Gaia-X.

Gerade wir als Anbieter einer SaaS-Plattform sehen eine wachsende Bedeutung von B2B-Plattformen aus dem Umfeld von Industrie 4.0 und des Internet of Things. Wie viele unserer Kunden und Partner wissen, gehören unsere Produkte zu den strategischen Lösungen für eine digitale Industrie.
Für uns sind die „Digital City“-Datenplattformen wichtigster Ansatzpunkt. Hierzu gab es spannende Sessions und Diskussionsrunden, in denen es einen regen fachlichen Austausch gab. Gerade die Punkte Datensouveränität und Datensicherheit wurden hierbei kontrovers diskutiert.

Was gerade für unser Unternehmen bei dem Event spannend war, sind die sich bietenden Chancen zum geplanten Cloud-Netzwerk Gaia-X. Dieses Netzwerk wird europäischen Firmen neue digitale Geschäftsmodelle ermöglichen. Das geplante Tempo, mit dem das Netzwerk starten soll, ist für europäische Verhältnisse enorm. Erste Tests dieses ambitionierten Konzeptes sind bereits für das nächste Jahr in der Pipeline. Bald nach diesen ersten Tests wird es den Livebetrieb mit ersten Anbietern und Anwendern geben. Die angedachte Gründung einer Europäischen Genossenschaft würde uns ebenfalls sehr gut gefallen. Die Vernetzung vom großen Industriekonzern über klassische KMU bis hin zu Startups passt dabei gut in unser strategisches Portfolio.

Alles in allem war das eine gelungene Veranstaltung. Die zwei Tage waren gespickt mit dem Austausch von Meinungen, Erfahrungen und Ideen zur Digitalisierung. Aber auch das Networking hatte seinen festen Platz. Somit für diesen Event „Daumen hoch“.